Skip to Content

US to play Jamaica, Nicaragua and a qualifier in Gold Cup


INGLEWOOD, Calif. (AP) — The defending champion United States will play Jamaica, Nicaragua and either Curaçao, French Guiana, St. Kitts and Nevis or Sint Maarten in Group A during the first round of the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The tournament opens June 24 and the final is July 16 at Inglewood, California. Sites and dates for specific group stage matches have not been announced.

Mexico was drawn Friday to play Haiti, Honduras and invited guest Qatar in Group B.

Costa Rica meets El Salvador, Panama and either Martinique, Puerto Rico, St. Lucia or Suriname in Group C.

Canada faces Cuba, Guatemala and either Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana or Trinidad and Tobago in Group D.

The U.S. has 38 wins, one loss and four draws in the Gold Cup group stage. The Americans are ranked 13th in the world, Jamaica 63rd, Curaçao 88th. St. Kitts and Nevis 139th and Nicaragua 140th. French Guiana and Sint Maarten are not ranked because they are not FIFA members.

Mexico has eight Gold Cup titles, the U.S. seven and Canada one.

Sites for this year’s tournament include AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas; Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina; Solider Field in Chicago; TQL Stadium in Cincinnati; DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale, Florida; State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona; Red Bull Arena in Harrison, New Jersey; NRG Stadium and Shell Energy Stadium in Houston; Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas; Citypark Stadium in St. Louis; Snapdragon Stadium in San Diego; Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California; and BMO Field in Toronto.


More AP soccer: and

Article Topic Follows: AP Arizona

Jump to comments ↓

Associated Press


KION 46 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content