Skip to Content

SAG Awards 2024: See who won

By Alli Rosenbloom and Lisa Respers France, CNN

(CNN) — No commercials, some f-bombs and plenty of time for acceptance speeches.

The 30th annual Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards were held Saturday at the Shrine Auditorium & Expo Hall in Los Angeles, and the show streamed live globally on Netflix – a first for the show and the streamer – which freed it up to be different from other award shows (read, no bleeps, as mentioned above, and no ad breaks either).

Saturday night’s winners were familiar to those who have been following awards season, as actors from “The Bear,” “Oppenheimer” and “Beef” took home statuettes as expected. Projected frontrunners like Lily Gladstone from “Killers of the Flower Moon” and Da’Vine Joy Randolph of “The Holdovers” also took home trophies, referred to as “actors” during the telecast.

While this year’s ceremony did not feature a host, Idris Elba unofficially fulfilled those duties, both opening and closing the show and appearing at least one other time in the middle, drawing laughs from the crowd.

Other buzzy entertainers who took the stage as presenters included Billie Eilish, Jessica Chastain, America Ferrera, Robert Downey Jr. and SAG-AFTRA president Fran Drescher, among many others.

Jennifer Aniston helped present Barbra Streisand with the SAG Life Achievement award, hailing the legend for “that voice” and calling her “a mensch.” Bradley Cooper also took the stage as part of the tribute.

Streisand noted in her acceptance speech that she has been a member of SAG-AFTRA for more than 60 years, and reminisced about being a teen in Brooklyn dreaming of becoming an actress while reading a movie magazine and eating a “pint of coffee ice cream.” She also mentioned key players of old Hollywood who were Jewish and who fled eastern Europe to escape persecution, saying, “Now I dream of a world where such prejudice is a thing of the past.”

The first award of the night was a treat for fans of “The Devil Wears Prada,” as the stars of the 2006 film – Meryl Streep, Anne Hathaway and Emily Blunt – reunited to present together. The SAG stage also saw other casts reuniting on Saturday, including those from “Breaking Bad” as well as Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis from 1986’s David Cronenberg film “The Fly,” who presented the final award for the evening.

The cast of “Succession” led the nominations among the television categories with five – nabbing the top honor for best ensemble. “Barbie” and “Oppenheimer” each scored four nominations in the motion picture categories, including earning recognition in the coveted ensemble cast category. “Oppenheimer” reigned victorious with three of those awards, while “Barbie” was shut out.

This is the first SAG Awards since last year’s prolonged actors’ strike in Hollywood – a fact that was brought up several times throughout the evening – and is also the last major entertainment awards event before next month’s Oscars ceremony.

Find below the categories and nominees, with winners denoted in bold:


Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role

Bradley Cooper, “Maestro”
Colman Domingo, “Rustin”
Paul Giamatti, “The Holdovers”
Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer” *WINNER
Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role

Annette Bening, “Nyad”
Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon” *WINNER
Carey Mulligan, “Maestro”
Margot Robbie, “Barbie”
Emma Stone, “Poor Things”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role

Sterling K. Brown, “American Fiction”
Willem Dafoe, “Poor Things”
Robert De Niro, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Robert Downey Jr., “Oppenheimer” *WINNER
Ryan Gosling, “Barbie”

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role

Emily Blunt, “Oppenheimer”
Danielle Brooks, “The Color Purple”
Penélope Cruz, “Ferrari”
Jodie Foster, “Nyad”
Da’Vine Joy Randolph, “The Holdovers” *WINNER

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture

“American Fiction”
“The Color Purple”
“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“Oppenheimer” *WINNER


Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series

Matt Bomer, “Fellow Travelers”
Jon Hamm, “Fargo”
David Oyelowo, “Lawmen: Bass Reeves”
Tony Shalhoub, “Mr. Monk’s Last Case: A Monk Movie”
Steven Yeun, “Beef” *WINNER

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Television Movie or Limited Series

Uzo Aduba, “Painkiller”
Kathryn Hahn, “Tiny Beautiful Things”
Brie Larson, “Lessons in Chemistry”
Bel Powley, “A Small Light”
Ali Wong, “Beef” *WINNER

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Drama Series

Brian Cox, “Succession”
Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show”
Kieran Culkin, “Succession”
Matthew Macfadyen, “Succession”
Pedro Pascal, “The Last of Us” *WINNER

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Drama Series

Jennifer Aniston, “The Morning Show”
Elizabeth Debicki, “The Crown” *WINNER
Bella Ramsey, “The Last of Us”
Keri Russell, “The Diplomat”
Sarah Snook, “Succession”

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Comedy Series 

Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Bill Hader, “Barry”
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear”
Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”
Jeremy Allen White, “The Bear” *WINNER

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Comedy Series 

Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Rachel Brosnahan, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary”
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear” *WINNER
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Drama Series

“The Crown”
“The Gilded Age”
“The Last of Us”
“The Morning Show”
“Succession” *WINNER

Outstanding Performance by an Ensemble in a Comedy Series

“Abbott Elementary”
“The Bear” *WINNER
“Only Murders in the Building”
“Ted Lasso”


Outstanding Action Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture 

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”
“Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny”
“John Wick: Chapter 4”
“Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One” *WINNER

Outstanding Action Performance by a Stunt Ensemble in a Television Series 

“The Last of Us” *WINNER
“The Mandalorian”

™ & © 2024 Cable News Network, Inc., a Warner Bros. Discovery Company. All rights reserved.

Article Topic Follows: CNN - Entertainment

Jump to comments ↓

CNN Newsource


KION 46 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation.

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. You can review our Community Guidelines by clicking here

If you would like to share a story idea, please submit it here.

Skip to content